Page Text

JANUARY 2013 WEIDENFELD FICTION

Paul Torday Light Shining in the Forest

A dark tale from ‘an extravagantly gifted writer’ Mail on Sunday. Norman Stokoe is appointed Children’s Czar only to have the new government put his department on permanent hold. He has a spacious office and P.A. but nothing to do – that is, until two children go missing. Faced with a distraught mother, Norman begins a search that will lead him to question the very system he is supposed to uphold. Paul Torday is the author of Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, a Richard and Judy bestseller which has now been made into a film staring Ewan McGregor and Emily Blunt. He lives in Hexham, Northumberland.

Fiction Cased/TPB (export only) January 2013 £12.99/£12.99 320pp 216 x 135mm 978 0 297 86747 0/978 0 297 86748 7 Markets: World USA, Translation & Serial: W&N

Amanda Coplin The Orchardist

An epic debut about turn-of-the-century America for fans of Cormac McCarthy and Annie Proulx. In the rural Pacific Northwest a solitary orchardist, Talmadge, tends to apples and apricots as if they were his children. One day, two teenage girls – feral, scared and very pregnant – appear, compelling him to open his heart. But when men arrive with guns, Talmadge must fight to save the lives of those he has learned to love while confronting the ghosts of his own troubled past. A native of Washington State, Amanda Coplin now lives and writes in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Orchardist is her first novel.

Fiction Cased/TPB (export only) January 2013/September 2012 £12.99/ £12.99 320pp 216 x 135mm/234 x 153mm 978 0 297 86790 6/978 0 297 86791 3 Markets: World XUSAC USA & Translation: William Morris Endeavour; Serial: W&N

www.orionbooks.co.uk 5