Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

United Kingdom IC PuBLICATIoNS, 7 CoLdBATh SquArE, LoNdoN EC1r 4Lq. Tel: +44 20 7713 7711 Fax: Admin +44 20 7713 7898 Editorial: +44 20 7713 7970 E-mail: icpubs@africasia.com Website: www.africasia.com

France IC PuBLICATIoNS, 609 BAT A 77 ruE BAYEN 75017 PArIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 Fax: +33 1 44 30 81 11 E-mail: info@icpublications.com Website: www.icpublications.com

Contents

OCTOBER 2007

Group Publisher: Afif Ben Yedder (benyedder@africasia.com)

Editor: Anver Versi (a.versi @africasia.com) Editorial Department Associate Editor Tom Nevin Correspondent-at-large Stephen Williams Editorial Assistant Carole Lambert Production Manager Christine Tyrell (c.tyrell@africasia.com) Correspondents in Africa Barnabas Thondlana, Leo Odera Omolo, Blamuel Njururi, Herald Tigama, Pini Jason, Rob Rose, John Ansah, Derek Otieno, Chris Ndivanga, Masupu Rakabane Special Correspondents Milan Vesely, Moin Siddiqi, Dr Karamo Sonko, Neil Ford, Franççois Misser, Graeme Ewens, Pini Jason, Eluem Izezi, Jennie Street, Paul Michaud

Sales and Marketing Associate Group Publisher: Omar Ben Yedder (o.benyedder@africasia.com) Director of Sales & Marketing: Saliba Manneh (s.manneh@africasia.com) Advertising Sales Directors: Alya Assad (a.assad@africasia.com) Carlota Casades (c.casades@africasia.com) Arthur Jones (a.jones@africasia.com) Nick Rosefield (n.rosefield@africasia.com) Special Projects Consultant: Monique Butt

Distribution Manager Mike Penton (m.penton@africasia.com) Subscriptions: IC Publications Subscriptions Dept Telephone: +44 20 7713 77 11 Fax: +44 20 7713 7898 Email: subscriptions@africasia.com Subscription rates for 11 issues: UK: UK£40.00, Eurozone €80.00, USA US$90.00, Rest of world UK£55.00 Back issues including postage: UK£4.00 (UK), UK£5.00/€7.00/US$8.00 (overseas)

Printers: Headley Brothers Ltd, The Invicta Press, Queens Road, Ashford, Kent, TN24 8HH. Indexed and abstracted in PAIS International and included in one or more of the Informartion Access Company full text reference databases. Microfilms available from Xerox University Microfilms, 399 N. Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106, USA. Indexed by UMI/Data Courier, PO Box 327770, Louisville, KY 402322770 USA.

All pictures AFP unless indicated. registered with the British Library. ISSN 0141-3929 ©2007 IC Publications Ltd.

12 Cover Story Africa’s top 100 Banks

52 Advertising East Africa’s brand boom

Member of The Audit Bureau of Circulations.

56 Energy Boost to Kenya’s geothermal ambitions

ISSUE 335 WWW.AFRICASIA.COM

Editorial 11 Food is the new oil

Cover Story Africa’s Top 100 Banks 12 An excellent year 16 A banking glossary 18 The top 100 ranking table 20 North Africa: Morocco pulls ahead 26 West Africa: Stirred and shaken 31 Central Africa: Gabon and Cameroon dominant 32 Southern Africa: A tale of two sectors 36 East Africa: Kenya shows strength 42 Nigeria: Currency plan suspended

Guest Column 1 Baroness Lynda Chalker 46 Declaring war on fakers

Finance 51 A billion customers waiting

Advertising 52 East Africa’s brand boom

Energy 56 Boost to Kenya’s geothermal ambitions

Industry 58 South Africa to make Merc C Class

Guest Column 2 Glyn Ford MEP 60 China: Problems of success

Logistics in Africa 64 Battle for Durban’s expansion

Essay S S Bhatnagar 68 A land of milk and money

World Cup Watch 70 Fan parks to attract a million

Topic 72 Africa Growth Report

Countryfiles 74 Nigeria: Flaring ban deadline stays 76 S. Africa: Land ownership debate 78 Mozambique: Coal output spurred 80 Liberia: End of blood diamonds 81 Senegal: New mobile provider 82 Congo-Brazzaville: Growth will follow stability

Reviews Music 90 Blue Men’s Blues

Skip to main content