Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Resources

93

inform

PEOPLE, PLACES AND RESEARCH LEADS FROM ISSUE 22

••• ATTIRE The clashDries Van Noten gathers the bright and the beautiful • Dries Van Noten www.driesvannoten.be • Dirk Bikkemberg www.bikkembergs.com • Anne Deumelmeester www.anndemeulemeester.be Dress upThe state of play in children’s fashion • Little Linens www.littlelinens.co.uk • Tulip and Nettle www.tulipandnettle.com • Bramley www.bramleybymail.com • Little Davis www.christadavis.com • Caramel Baby and Child www.caramel-shop.co.uk • Loopy www.loopydesign.com • Bonpoint www.bonpoint.com • Cyrillus www.cyrillus.com • Their Nibs www.theirnibs.com • All The Fun of The Fair www.allthefunofthefair.biz Permanent markerSasha Duerr makes lasting changes • The Permacouture Institute www.permacouture.org • Sustainable Style Foundation www.sustainablestyle.org • Inhabitat www.inhabitat.com • Sustainable Cotton Project www.sustainablecotton.org • Wiser Earth www.wiserearth.org • Lifetimes www.katefletcher.com

••• CONCEPT PaperweightThe precious cloth of Hiroko Karuno • Paper Museum Japan www.papermuseum.jp • Dard Hunter Studios, 125 West Water Street, Chillicothe, USA, by appointment www.dardhunter.com • Robert C. Williams Paper Museum, 500 10th Street, Atlanta, USA www.ipst.gatech.edu

••• COHABIT The ultimate wall of flowersDecorative flights of fancy • Flights of Fancy www.whitworth.manchester.ac.uk • V&A Museum wallpaper collection www.vam.ac.uk • Museum of Domestic Design and Architecture (MoDA) www.moda.mdx.ac.uk • Wallpapers on show at Temple Newsam House, Leeds www.leeds.gov.uk/templenewsam Paper dollJulie Arkell’s home-made house • Julie Arkell’s Rabbit Workshop £110, 30 March 11-5, Loop, 41 Cross Street, N1 2BB, UK T: 020 7288 1160 • Creature Comforts at Cowslip Workshops £85, 5, 6, 7, 8 April www.cowslipworkshops.co.ukT: 01566 772654 • Making Stories exhibition, 6 November 2008 - 5 January 2009, Flow Gallery www.flowgallery.co.uk

••• INDUSTRY Peel back Jocelyn Warner is stuck on wallpaper • Jocelyn Warnerwww.jocelynwarner.com • Deborah Bowness www.deborahbowness.com • Tracy Kendall www.tracykendall.com • Timorous Beasties www.timorousbeasties.com • Cole and Son www.cole-and-son.com • Inke Heiland www.inke.nl • Rachel Kelly www.interactivewallpaper.co.uk • Graham and Brown www.grahambrown.com Drawn inNew developments in fashion illustration • Irene Jacobs, I’m JAC www.im-jac.com • Big Book of Fashion Illustration, Martin Dawber £16 (quote CH856) T: 0870 787 1613 Reading between the lines Judith Solodkin’s art books • Judith Solodkin www.soloimpression.com • Kent Henricksen: A Season of Delight by Kathy Grayson et al. ISBN 889570200X, £20.80 • Ken Tyler, Master Printer, and the American Print Renaissanceed Pat Gilmour, ISBN 0933920164, £25 Design File A case study of Marianne Straub’s textiles • Makers and Movers Exhibition, until 13 December 2008, Crafts Study Centre www.csc.ucreative.ac.uk • Marianne Straub, M Schoeser, ISBN 085072153, £8.95

••• ANECDOTE Play room We refuse to put away childish things... • Nora Wellings: Cloth Dolls and Soft Toys, Gillian Trotter ISBN 875886515, £19.99 • Musuem of International Folk Art www.international folkart.org • Royal Dolls, Windsor Castle www.royalcollection.org.uk • The Izannah Walker Chronicals www.izannahwalker chronicles.blogspot.com • Manon Gignoux www.manon-gignoux.com • A Celebration of Enchantment The Unique Dolls of Lynne and Michael Roche available from www.roche-dolls.co.uk • Museum of Childhoodwww.vam.ac.uk/moc • Lauren Child www.milkmoniter.com • The Little House on the Prairie www.littlehouseontheprairie.com • Raggedy Ann and Andy Museum, Illinois, by appointment www.raggedyann-museum.org • Betsy McCall www.midpa.com/betsymccall • Tom Tierney www.tomtierney.com • Dean’s Rag Book www.deansbears.com • Uthando Project www.uthandoproject.org

••• INDULGE To the letter • Art books by Sarah Brown www.sarahbrown.info • Letterpress custom stationery www.sugarpaper.com • Cox & Cox www.coxandcox.co.uk • Non adhesive binding www.keithsmithbooks.com • Khadi Papers www.khadi.com • Incline Press www.inclinepress.com • Joshua Heller Rare Books Incorporated www.joshuahellerrarebooks.com • Egg Press www.eggpress.com • British Letter Press www.britishletterpress.co.uk • Tara Books www.tarabooks.com

••• INFORM NewsTrends and essential ideas • The British Library www.bl.uk • The Folio Society www.foliosoc.co.uk • The Society of Bookbinders www.societyofbookbinders.com • The Institute of Bookbinding www.ibat.org.uk • Falkiners Fine Papers www.falkiners.com • Shepherds Bookbinding www.bookbinding.co.uk • Paper Industry Technical Associationwww.pita.co.uk • British Association of Paper Historianswww.baph.org.uk • Dulcote Paper Mill www.dulcote.com • Museum of Papermaking, Heron Corn Mill www.heronmill.org • Museum of International Paper History www.papermakinghistory.org • Hand Paper Making Journal www.handpapermaking.org

••• READING LIST HOMEJulie Arkell, Ruthin Gallery ISBN 1900941783, £16 THE LOST AND THE FOUND Tabitha Kyoko Moses, ISBN 9780906585382, £10 THE PAPERED WALLThe History, Patterns and Techniques of WallpaperLesley Hoskins, ISBN 0500285683, £19.95 PAPER TEXTILESChristina Leitner, ISBN 071367444X, £30 FLORENCE BROADHURST: Her Secret and Extraordinary Lives Helen O’Neill Ruthin Gallery ISBN 97808 11859370, £27.95 SAMPLERS From the Victoria and Albert MuseumC Brown & J Wearden, ISBN 1851772901, £18.95 WALLPAPER IN INTERIOR DECORATIONGill Saunders, ISBN 1851773568, £18.95

Available from www.selvedge-bookshop.org

selvedge.org

Skip to main content