Page Text

10

W&N General & Literary Fiction HB April £12.99 320pp 978 0 297 86975 7 eBook: £12.99 / 978 0 297 86977 1

ALENA GRAEDON The Word Exchange

A literary thriller for book lovers, a dystopian tale about the Digital Age, and a charming love story. Language is under attack. In New York, in the not-too-distant future, print books are collectors’ items and people have become dependent on devices called Memes™. When a virus takes hold, garbled speech spills over from Memes into the human mind. Doug Johnson, who has been compiling the final print edition of the North American Dictionary, vanishes from his offices without trace. His daughter, Anana, sets out to find him, helped by Bart, a shy lexicographer who is hopelessly in love with her. But, as the mystery of the virus deepens, it seems everyone around Anana will lie for love or money... Alena Graedon graduated from Brown in 2002 and received her MFA in 2007 from Columbia. She has been published in the Believer and has worked at the New Yorker. The Word Exchange is her first novel.

author:

Location: New York, USA Available for Interview f/Alena Graedon

W&N Fiction • April / May 2014

W&N General & Literary Fiction HB May £12.99 336pp 978 0 297 60814 1 eBook: £12.99 / 978 0 297 60815 8

DOMINIC PRINCE Thrown

For fans of Dick Francis and Seabiscuit, the story of a stable lad and a suffragette, and the thrilling race that binds them. Derby Day, 1913. A group of wild gamblers have been training Abeyour, their savage thoroughbred, in secret. Abeyour is set to fool the bookmakers and win millions for his masters. Central to the plan is Ingram Piper, a young man whose nerve will be tested to the limit when his friend Emily Davison arrives at the racetrack and sets her sights on the King’s horse... In the tragedy that unfolds, fortunes are made and lost, hearts are broken and the course of history will change for ever. Dominic Prince is a journalist and documentary maker who writes for the Daily Mail, the Mail on Sunday, the Independent, The Telegraph and The Spectator. He has made films on a wide variety of sporting subjects for the BBC and Channel 4, including Lester Piggott and the last Waterloo Cup. An amateur jockey, he famously lost over five stone to get back in the saddle. He lives in London with his wife, the food writer Rose Prince, and their two children. Thrown is his first novel.

author:

Location: London/Dorset Available for Interview