Page Text

11

W&N General & Literary Fiction HB June £18.99 368pp 978 0 297 86603 9 eBook: £18.99 / 978 0 297 86605 3

KATHARINE MCMAHON The Woman in the Picture

A stunning sequel to The Crimson Rooms, from Katharine McMahon, author of Richard & Judy choice The Rose of Sebastopol. 1926. The city of London is tense in the days leading up to The General Strike. Evelyn Gifford has now qualified as a solicitor – one of the first women to do so – but her life remains full of conflict. When her beloved grandmother dies and Meredith leaves to pursue her dream of being an artist in the south of France, Evelyn finds herself very much alone. But not for long – an unexpected proposal coincides with the return of a former love and Evelyn must ask herself what matters most – security or passion. Katharine McMahon has worked in schools and universities as a Royal Literary Fund Fellow supporting student writing. She is the author of seven novels including The Rose of Sebastopol, which sold over 250,000 copies, The Crimson Rooms and A Way Through the Woods.

W&N General & Literary Fiction HB June £20.00 560pp 978 0 297 87138 5 eBook: £20.00 / 978 0 297 87139 2

JOHN DAVID MORLEY Ella Morris

For fans of Anna Funder, Vasily Grossman and Irène Némirovsky, an epic, exhilarating and ambitious novel from acclaimed journalist John David Morley. Spanning the decades from WWII to the Yugoslav conflict, Ella Morris is the story of a continent, and of a woman torn between two men. Born in Berlin on the eve of Hitler’s rise to power, Ella Andrzejewski escapes Soviet-occupied Europe and finds a safe haven in England. Here, she marries George Morris but falls passionately in love with a French student ten years her junior. The ramifications of this love triangle and of Ella’s traumatic past will reverberate through the generations, as her children try to find their own troubled peace in a continent still scarred by war. John David Morley is the author of Pictures from the Water Trade, an acclaimed non-fiction account of life in Japan, and the novel Journey to the End of the Whale.

author:

Location: Hertfordshire Available for Interview http://katharinemcmahon.com f/Katharine McMahon @McKatharine author:

Location: Munich, Germany Available for Interview f/John David Morley

W&N Fiction • June 2014