Page Text

Orion Fiction HB July £12.99 400pp 978 1 4091 3988 1 eBook: £6.99 / 978 1 4091 3987 4

FIRST WORLDWARCENTENARY

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong and Downton Abbey, this is a must-read historical novel for 2014.

KATE WILLIAMS The Storms of War

The first novel in Kate Williams’s groundbreaking new historical series which marks the hundredyear anniversary of the Great War. In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Celia, the youngest daughter, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world. But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war. Kate Williams is an author, social historian, constitutional and royal expert, broadcaster and novelist.

35

author:

Location: London Available for Interview f/Kate-Williams @KateW_author

Orion Fiction • July 2014