Page Text

W&N Literary Fiction HB January £12.99 240pp 978 0 297 87118 7 eBook: £12.99 / 978 0 297 87121 7

‘Beautifully written and sensuous, rich with emotion and psychological truth. Amy Grace Loyd’s prose hums with desire’ – Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins

AMY GRACE LOYD The Affairs of Others

For fans of Siri Husvedt and Nicole Krauss, a seductive debut about the awakening of a young widow. In the five years since her young husband’s death, Celia Cassill has retreated from view. She has moved from one New York neighbourhood to another but she has not moved on. The owner of a small apartment building, she has chosen tenants who will not intrude upon her grief. Privacy is the byword; self-containment the aim. Everything will change when a new tenant, Hope, moves in upstairs. Intoxicating and dangerous, Hope is on the run from a failed marriage and in thrall to a seductive, sinister man. As her noisy affair destroys the building’s quiet, and another tenant disappears, Celia is forced into contact with life – complicated, messy, irrepressible life – through violence, sex, and the secrets barely concealed within the brownstone’s walls. ‘Debut novels don’t come any more sure-handed and deftly written than The Affairs of Others. Damaged, broken-hearted Celia… latches on to us and refuses to loosen her grip’ – Richard Russo, author of Empire Falls Amy Grace Loyd is an executive editor at Byliner Inc. and was the fiction and literary editor of Playboy Magazine for over six years until 2012. She has worked for the New Yorker’s fiction department and the New York Review of Books. The Affairs of Others is her first novel.

3

author:

Location: Brooklyn, New York Available for Interview f/The-Affairs-of-Others @AmyGracieL

W&N Fiction • January 2014