Page Text

4

W&N General & Literary Fiction eBook February £5.99 320pp 978 0 297 87108 8

PHILIP NORMAN The Avocado Fool

A mordantly funny satire of the 1980s music industry from Philip Norman, the acclaimed biographer of Mick Jagger and The Beatles, and one of Granta’s best young writers in 1983. Mal Pritchard is sliding into middle-age, content with his easy life and generous salary at Amber Records, until he falls for the captivating Alex. Fleeing office gossip, he quits his job and crosses the Atlantic with her. But Mal soon discovers that he is not the first man whose life Alex has ruined, nor will he be last. Told with wit, flair, and an exquisite sense of the era, The Avocado Fool will appeal to fans of Jay McInerney, Geoff Dyer and A Visit from the Goon Squad. Philip Norman has published biographies of musical legends including The Rolling Stones and Buddy Holly, six works of fiction and two plays. He investigated the break-up of The Beatles’ business, Apple Corps, for The Sunday Times in the 1960s.

Phoenix General and Literary Fiction MMP February £7.99 400pp 978 1 7802 2505 0 eBook: £9.99 / 978 1 7806 2037 4

SALLY GARDNER The Double Shadow

A mesmerising novel about love, loss and the mercurial nature of memory by Carnegie Medal winner Sally Gardner. Sally Gardner’s first adult novel, The Double Shadow, is redolent of magic and the art deco glamour of the 1930s and is perfect for fans of Angela Carter or Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. From the author of bestselling I, Coriander, this is a beautifully-crafted literary treat, which tells the story of fifteen-year-old Ezra – both disturbed and enchanted by beautiful, wealthy Amaryllis – and the events of one summer’s day which will reverberate through the years, as clouds of war gather over 1930s Britain. Sally Gardner is an acclaimed novelist whose books have sold more than 1 million copies in the UK. She is winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Costa Book Award.

author:

Location: London Available for Interview @philjnorman

W&N Fiction • February 2014

author:

Location: London Available for Interview www.sallygardner.net/ f/SallyGardner.Author @TheSallyGardner