Page Text

10

Orion General and literary fiction / Historical fiction HB July @ £12.99 400pp 978 1 4091 3988 1 eBook: £6.99 / 978 1 4091 3987 4

‘A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it’ – Alison Weir

KATE WILLIAMS The Storms of War

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong and Downton Abbey, this is the must-read historical novel of 2014. The first novel in Kate Williams’s groundbreaking new trilogy opens in the idyllic early summer of 1914. Life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter, Emmeline, while their son Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world. But the onslaught of war changes everything, and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts her and those she loves in danger. With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war. Kate Williams is an author, social historian, constitutional and royal expert, broadcaster and novelist.

Orion Fiction • July 2014

author:

Location: London Available for interview f/Kate-Williams @KateWilliamsUK