Page Text

4

‘There were women out there beating each other up whilst Jane Austen was sipping tea.’ Scan the QR code to watch Anna explain how Horrible Histories and 18th-century adverts inspired her to write The Fair Fight.

W&N Fiction HB/ETPB August @ £12.99/£13.99 448pp 978 0 297 87195 8/978 0 297 87197 2 eBook: £12.99 / 978 0 297 87198 9

‘The Fair Fight stood out on account of its vigorous storytelling, the dexterity of its language and the author’s ability to create characters that live and breathe. A superb act of imaginative ventriloquism’ – Jasper Sutcliffe, Head Buyer, Foyles

ANNA FREEMAN The Fair Fight

For fans of Sarah Waters and The Crimson Petal and the White, a vibrant romp through eighteenth-century Bristol from an astonishing new talent. The Fair Fight is a pulsating historical novel set within the world of female pugilists and their patrons. It’s an unputdownable story which takes you from a filthy brothel to the finest houses in town, from the world of street fighters to another of champions. It is about fighting your way to the top – and not only with your fists. Alive with the smells and sounds of the street, The Fair Fight is a major debut with incredibly wide appeal. The Fair Fight was the unanimous winner of the Tibor Jones Pageturner Prize 2013, judged by a panel including Granta Best of British novelist Evie Wyld, Roy Butlin from Clapham and Herne Hill Books and Jasper Sutcliffe, Head Buyer at Foyles. ‘An assured and engaging story full of memorable characters and a great story’ – Roy Butlin, Clapham and Herne Hill Books Anna Freeman is a lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, as well as a multiple slam-winning performance poet who has appeared at festivals and venues across Britain including Latitude and Glastonbury.

author:

Location: Bristol Available for interview

W&N Fiction • August 2014