Page Text

74

Gollancz Fantasy HB/TPB September @ £20.00/£16.99 512pp 978 1 473 20029 6/ 978 1 473 20030 2 eBook: £16.99 / 978 1 473 20032 6

Gollancz Science Fiction HB September £16.99 368pp 978 0 575 12768 5 eBook: £16.99 / 978 0 575 1277 0 8

Gollancz Fantasy TPB September £14.99 448pp 978 0 575 10797 7 eBook: £14.99 / 978 0 575 10799 1

EDWARD COX The Relic Guild

In the sealed Labyrinth, a young woman must find a way to control her magic and escape her prison. The Labyrinth had once been the great meeting place, a sprawling city where a million humans hosted the Houses of the Aelfir. But when the Thaumaturgists, overlords of human and Aelfir alike, went to war, the Labyrinth became an abandoned forbidden zone. The Relic Guild, a secret band of magickers sworn to protect the Labyrinth, are now too few, and the enemy has returned. To defeat their nemesis, mightier help will be required. To save the Labyrinth the Relic Guild must find a way to contact the worlds beyond their walls. • The beginning of a new fantasy series set in an extraordinary city. Edward Cox is a debut author.

author:

Location: Colchester, Essex Available for interview @EdwardCox10

Gollancz Science Fiction & Fantasy • September 2014

ADAM ROBERTS Bête

The extraordinary new novel from the award-winning author. Bête is a fable, a thriller. It is a novel about humanity’s relationship to animals and the natural world in an age of pervasive technology. An area that SF has not often examined is looked at by Roberts’ unique eye. The result is a novel of the future that speaks to the urgent issues of today, as population places unprecedented pressures on the natural world, and our links with technology seek to isolate us from that world. This is a typically brilliant work from one of the genre’s most acclaimed figures. Adam Roberts is a professor at Royal Holloway University. He is the awardwinning author of many critically acclaimed SF novels and bestselling parodies such as The Soddit.

author:

Location: Ascot, Berkshire Available for interview www.adamroberts.com f/adam.roberts.52 @arrroberts

PIERRE PEVEL The Knight A Tale from the High Kingdom

An epic new fantasy story – and a bloody, dramatic battle for a throne. This is epic fantasy at its bloodiest and best: a personal, vibrant and bloody tale of friendship, war, and succession to power, told by one of the most dangerous men alive . . . Mind your back: there’s betrayal in the air. • Will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks. Pierre Pevel is one of the foremost writers of French fantasy today and a winner of the Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire.

author:

Location: Saint-Max, France Available for interview f/pierre.pevel