Page Text

6

W&N Fiction HB/ETPB September @ £20.00/£13.99 896pp 978 0 297 87138 5/978 0 297 87172 9 eBook: £20.00 / 978 0 297 87139 2

‘This is a bold and fascinating mystery novel of ideas. John David Morley enfolds science and human loss with great fictional cunning’ – Ian McEwan on The Book of Opposites

W&N Fiction • September 2014

JOHN DAVID MORLEY Ella Morris

For fans of Anna Funder, Vasily Grossman and Irène Némirovsky: a sweeping, exhilarating novel from acclaimed journalist John David Morley. Spanning the decades from WWII to the Yugoslav conflict, Ella Morris is the story of a continent, and of a woman torn between two men. Born in Berlin on the eve of Hitler’s rise to power, Ella Andrzejewski escapes Sovietoccupied Europe and finds a safe haven in England. Here, she marries George Morris but falls passionately in love with a French student ten years her junior. The consequences of this love triangle, and of Ella’s traumatic past, will reverberate through the generations, as her children try to find their own fragile peace in a continent still scarred by war. ‘[A] splendid book’ Kazuo Ishiguro on Pictures from the Water Trade ‘There is beauty in strange places in Morley’s haunting scheme’ Sunday Telegraph on Journey to the End of the Whale ‘A marvellous and original work of fiction’ Melvyn Bragg on Journey to the End of the Whale ‘A remarkable feat of imagination and sheer narrative energy’ Frank Kermode on Passage John David Morley was born in Singapore. He has lived in West Africa, England, Japan and Mexico, where he was tutor in the household of Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. As a journalist, he has written for publications including The Times, The Sunday Times Magazine, The Observer and Condé Nast Traveller.

author:

Location: Munich, Germany Available for interview