Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS, 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ. TEL: +44 20 7841 3210 FAX ADMIN: +44 20 7713 7898 EDITORIAL: +44 20 7841 3211 EMAIL: icpubs@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 BAT A 77 RUE BAYEN 75017 Paris TEL: +33 1 44 30 81 00 FAX: +33 1 44 30 81 11 EMAIL: info@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com

FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR Baffour Ankomah b.ankomah@icpublications.com DEPUTY EDITOR reGina Jane Jere regina@icpublications.com MARKETS EDITOR Stephen Williams s.williams@icpublications.com ART DIRECTOR jason@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu EDITORIAL ASSISTANT Carole Lambert c.lambert@icpublications.com ASSOCIATE EDITORS Pusch Commey, Cameron Duodu, Gérrard Choisnet, Ridha Kefi, Jon Haynes, Hichem Ben Yaiche, Carina Ray, Osasu Obayiuwana, Mercy Eze, Leslie Goffe CORRESPONDENTS Wanjohi Kabukuru, Stephen Gyasi Jnr, Belinda Otas, Mabasa Sasa, Jarlawah Tonpo, Reginald Ntomba, Clayton Goodwin, Osei Boateng

SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications PO Box 2068, Bushy, Herts, WD23 3ZF Telephone: +44 20 8950 9117 Fax: +44 20 8421 8155 icpublications@alliance-media. co.uk www.newafricanmagazine.com/ main-articles/subs IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net GENERAL MANAGER

Leila Ben Hassen l.benhassen@icpublications.com VP – BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty Elisée Marie Nick Rosefield SENIOR SALES EXECUTIVE Nadia Osho-Williams ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com PRODUCTION Richard Briggs r.briggs@icpublications.com

GHANA – DISTRIBUTION Nana Asiamah Bekoe Tel: +233 20 815 3431 kingsconceptsltd@gmail.com GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS & ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org SENEGAL Nathalie Desanti-Tounkara n.desanti@icpublications.com NORTH AFRICA Nejib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications.com PRINTERS Headley Brothers Ltd, The Invicta Press, Queens Road, Ashford, Kent, TN24 8HH. All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345 ©2014 IC Publications Ltd. N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0213 K 89410 Mensuel Dépôt légal: Juillet 2014 See p. 54 for subscription details.

Contents

NEW AFRICAN The bestselling pan-African magazine, founded in 1966

JULY 2014 ISSUE 541 www.newafricanmagazine.com

6 ZIMBABWE: HOW WE SURVIVED DR GIDEON GONO, FORMER RBZ GOVERNOR One of the key figures in the fight to survive economic sanctions, imposed on Zimbabwe as a tool for “regime change”, speaks out on how the tide was stemmed.

LETTERS 4 Your comments and views COVER STORY 6 Zimbabwe “It’s a miracle how we survived” FEATURES 16 South Africa: Cyril Ramaphosa 20 South Africa: A poisoned chalice 22 Liberia: The road to elections 24 Kenya: The return of Raila Odinga 27 Kenya: Who attacked Lamu? 28 Malawi: Banda conceded for peace INTERVIEWS 36 Jeffrey Sachs 40 Mali’s Mahamou Camara REFLECTIONS 42 The trouble with our youth? OPINION 44 What is Africa’s renaissance? 46 The pain of inequality

OUT OF AFRICA 48 At last, a regional leader NA MARKETS 50 The Wari story 52 Togo and youth unemployment

DIASPORA 56 Maya Angelou’s African connections 62 Tribute: Maya Angelou

BOOKS 64 Chinua Achebe: Tributes & reflections TRAVEL 66 Maputo’s bewitching charms THE ARTS 70 Culture: Marrakech gardens 74 Nollywood: No single plot 78 Art: Ablade Glover – Ghanaian mirage BACK TO THE FUTURE 82 Separating symbolism from reality

Skip to main content