Page Text

8

W&N Fiction HB / ETPB March £12.99 / £13.99 320pp 978 0 297 60844 8 / 978 0 297 60845 5 eBook: £12.99 / 978 0 297 60846 2

Praise for Away From You ‘A deeply affecting book with its own atmosphere of strong light and brilliant detail’ – Helen Dunmore

‘A delicately crafted and powerfully evocative novel’ – Esther Freud

MELANIE FINN Shame

For fans of J. M. Coetzee, Anita Shreve and The Other Hand, a devastatingly powerful novel from Orange Prize-longlisted Melanie Finn. Most of us have a plan. Somewhere to go if something awful happens. Pilgrim Jones doesn’t. She looks up at a departures board and takes the first flight. She alights on the edge of Africa. Over confessions and strong gin, she’s lured into a world of mercenaries and philanthropists, delusional heroes and witchdoctors in polyester suits. But what about the beating absence, the thing she’s done? And will she find redemption before someone finds her? Shame is a novel about a world out of time, about magic and chance, Europe and Africa, learning to live and living to learn. It will transport you from diplomatic dinners to a land where fireflies light the sky, and a desolate, magical coastline where anything – anything – might happen. Inspired by Melanie Finn’s experiences in East Africa and by the true story of a man who lost his daughter in a plane crash, then tracked down the air traffic controller responsible and murdered him. Melanie Finn has worked as a screenwriter and a journalist, and is the founder and director of the Natron Health Project, which brings healthcare to Masai communities in Northern Tanzania. Her first novel, Away From You, was published to great critical acclaim in 2004, and was longlisted for the Orange and IMPAC Prizes.

author:

Location: Vermont, USA, and London Available for interview

W&N Fiction • March 2015