Page Text

68

Orion Fiction TPB June £12.99 384pp 978 1 4091 4616 2 eBook: £12.99 / 978 1 4091 4614 8

Carter Blake is a brilliant series character who could give Jack Reacher, Alex Cross and Jason Bourne a run for their money!

Orion Fiction • June 2015

MASON CROSS The Samaritan

For fans of Lee Child, Michael Connelly and James Patterson comes the gripping new novel from the author of The Killing Season. When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered in the Santa Monica Mountains, LAPD Detective Jessica Allen uncovers a terrifying truth. A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for the past decade, preying on lone female drivers who have broken down. The press dub the killer ‘the Samaritan’, but with no leads and a killer who leaves no traces, the investigation quickly grinds to a halt. That’s when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He’s a skilled manhunter with an uncanny ability to predict the Samaritan’s next moves. At first, Allen and her colleagues are suspicious. But as the Samaritan takes his slaughter to the next level, Blake is forced to reveal that the similarities between the two men are closer than even Allen suspects. With a faultless blend of compelling action, intelligent plotting and well-drawn characters, The Samaritan is a gripping, no-holds-barred thriller. Mason Cross studied English at the University of Stirling and currently works in the voluntary sector. He has written a number of short stories, including ‘A Living’, which was shortlisted for the Quick Reads ‘Get Britain Reading’ Award. His debut novel, The Killing Season, was published in 2014.

author:

Location: Glasgow, UK Available for interview www.carterblake.net f/masoncrossbooks @MasonCrossBooks