Page Text

6

W&N Fiction HB / ETPB February £12.99 / £13.99 320pp 978 0 297 87203 0 / 978 0 297 60821 9 eBook: £12.99 / 978 0 297 60822 6

‘This story twists like a pretzel, the author teases and tantalises the reader, and it’s delightfully unexpected’ – The Times on The Coincidence Authority

W&N Fiction • February 2015

JOHN IRONMONGER Not Forgetting the Whale

For fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Rosie Project, the tale of a man running from his life only to find it again in a small fishing community in Cornwall. When a young man washes up, naked, on the sands of St Piran, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the schoolteacher, to the beachcomber and the owner of the local bar, the priest’s wife and the romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. But what the villagers don’t know is that Joe Haak has fled the City of London amid fears of a worldwide collapse of civilisation, a collapse forecast by a computer program he designed. But is the end of the world really nigh? Can Joe convince the village to seal itself off from the outside world? And what of the whale that lurks in the bay? Intimate, funny and deeply moving, Not Forgetting the Whale is the story of a man on a journey to find a place he can call home. ‘A book which pulls off its strange premise with charm, wit and devil-may-care storytelling. Huge fun’ Mark Watson on The Notable Brain of Maximilian Ponder John Ironmonger is the author of The Notable Brain of Maximilian Ponder, which was shortlisted for the 2012 Costa First Novel Prize, and The Coincidence Authority, a Waterstones Book Club pick. He grew up in East Africa and now lives in rural Shropshire with his wife, Sue.

author:

Location: Market Drayton, Shropshire Available for interview www.notablebrain.blogspot.co.uk www.thecoincidenceauthority.com @jwironmonger