Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News Focus The radical gesture raising hopes of unity Page 12

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news A chance discovery reignites the debate over Shakespeare’s faith 10 World news Francis lays down a challenge to the world’s Islamic leaders 12 News focus Rome and Constantinople take a small step closer to unity

Comment 15 Notebook Will Heaven says the state may be snooping on your marriage 16 Cover story Cardinal George Pell on Francis and his financial revolution 19 Comment Conrad Black says papal critics are conspicuously silent 20 Interview Louise Mensch on the ‘deal’ that brought her back to the Church 21 Comment Freddy Gray hates charity stunts 22 Feature Damian Thompson on how the Church lost Latino Catholics

Damian Thompson The great Latino Catholic exodus Page 22

Freddy Gray Charities are relying on a fad for facial hair Page 21

25 Comment Mary Kenny on the curious rise of the ‘unisex’ ideology 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts The ghostly vision that changed William Blake’s art forever 30 Books A biography reveals the quirky side of Pope Francis 33 Spiritual life The Advent journey starts in the wilderness 36 Catholic Life A stand-up comedian honours a Catholic school’s headmaster 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Stuart Reid is tempted by Chicken Balti flavour rock 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the church inside each of us

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £75 ✣ Annual EU: £90 ✣ Annual world: £105

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content