Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

ContentsNews6WeekinreviewAguidetothepastsevendays8HomenewsAnewrectorforWalsingham10WorldnewsBishopdeploresCIAtorture12NewsfocusDidPopeFrancisreallysnubtheDalaiLama?

Comment 15 Notebook Archbishop Leo Cushley 16 Lead story What Iraqi Christian refugees are dreaming of this Christmas 19 Reflection Cardinal Vincent Nichols sees the footprints of Jesus in Gaza 20 Feature Princess Michael of Kent on the women who inspire her work 21 Comment Francis Phillips says ISIS is no match for our greatest martyrs 22 Interview The cancer-stricken seminarian who tried to save a woman’s life 25 Comment Mary Kenny on the delights of being a student in your 70s 27 Letters and emails 28 Food and drink Peter Sheppard suggests it’s a crime not to feast at Christmas 32 Feature Melanie McDonagh says carols were never meant for church

Brendan Gleeson Why I wanted to play a good priest Page 44

✣ / /

Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor You can't know Jesus properly without knowing Mary Page 34

Tim Stanley Is Doctor Who becoming a religion? Page 40

35 Comment Taki on fighting New Atheists 36 Feature Eben Alexander says he knows that heaven exists 39 Feature Jill, Duchess of Hamilton looks for mince pies in Jerusalem 47 Feature Jennifer Fulwiler on what non-believers feel at Christmas

Arts and life 48 Arts Is The Hobbit merely fiction? 50 Books The creepy side of Philip II 53 Spiritual life Finish Advent with a flourish 56 Catholic Life The Herald’s launch party 58 Bishops’ engagements 59 Crossword 60 Charterhouse Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith says there is only one place to find peace this Christmas 63 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the athlete who personified grace Cover: Howard McWilliam

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £75 ✣ Annual EU: £90 ✣ Annual world: £105

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content