Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News Focus He transformed US-Cuban relations. Now can Francis bring peace to the Middle East? Page 12

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Supreme Court denies midwives’ conscience rights 10 World news The Pope diagnoses the ills of the Roman Curia 12 News focus After Cuba, can Francis end the Israeli-Palestinian conflict?

Comment 15 Notebook Cristina Odone says the Alpha course is creating Christians with a touch of steel 16 Cover story Mark Greaves on why Pope Francis needs to beware of Sri Lanka’s angry Buddhists 18 Feature Andrew Roberts says Napoleon went from hero to zero for Catholics in just seven years

Andrew Roberts The day Catholics almost lynched a young Napoleon Page 18

Cristina Odone Why Catholics copied Alpha Page 15

20 Comment Harry Mount urges lovers of silence to make a beeline for London 21 Comment Will the British Army be better off with women on the front line, asks Mary Kenny 22 Letters and emails

Life 23 Spiritual life Fr John Zuhlsdorf shares a hair-raising Epiphany prayer 26 Bishops’ engagements 27 Crossword 28 Charterhouse Stuart Reid is amazed that Aussies are embracing political correctness 31 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser says Catholics need atheists to understand God’s revelation

Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £75 ✣ Annual EU: £90 ✣ Annual world: £105

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content