Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

John Charmley Churchill was a prisoner of Protestant history Page 19

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Thousands call for Richard III to be given a Catholic burial 10 World news Shock as Mohammed cartoon protesters burn churches 12 News focus Can Catholics and Lutheran really commemorate the Reformation together?

Comment 15 Notebook Dennis Sewell says Ofsted poses a threat to church schools 16 Cover story Ed West on Ukip’s audacious plan to win Christian votes 19 Comment Churchill always saw Catholics as history’s baddies, argues John Charmley 20 Feature Melanie McDonagh says eight is too young for Confession 21 Comment Jill, Duchess of Hamilton on the saint who kept a skull at his feet 22 Feature Danny Sullivan hails the world’s most talkative Trappist

Dennis Sewell Will Ofsted head Sir Michael Wilshaw defend our schools? Page 15

Danny Sullivan Thomas Merton was no saint Page 22

25 Comment Mary Kenny asks if women want female bishops 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts Quentin Falk on the film that made him ashamed to be white 30 Books The Irishman who thinks Oliver Cromwell deserves an apology 33 Spiritual life Moses is a spiritual hero, says Bishop David McGough 36 Catholic Life An Iraqi-born pianist performs in aid of Christian refugees 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Nick Thomas on the zealous Protestants who built a secular Amsterdam 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser argues that no religion is absolute Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £75 ✣ Annual EU: £90 ✣ Annual world: £105

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content