Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news English bishops to meet Ukip’s Catholic MEPs 10 World news Vatican rallies around Cardinal Pell after expenses leak 12 News focus Is it ethical to help Assyrians in their fight against ISIS?

Comment 15 Notebook Richard Ingrams says he’s had enough of depressing news 16 Cover story We need to wake up and defend Catholic medics, says John Duddington 19 Comment Bishop John Sherrington says we must give parliamentary candidates a thorough grilling 20 Feature Madeleine Teahan says The Sound of Music is great Catholic propaganda 21 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza on the historian who loved the truth 22 Feature Alice Thomas Ellis changed my life, says Deborah Bosley

Madeleine Teahan Will The Sound of Music rot your soul? Page 20

Richard Ingrams My struggle to give up the news Page 15

Deborah Bosley Why I miss Alice Thomas Ellis Page 22

25 Comment Mary Kenny on the Fleet Street maxims that are totally wrong 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts Tim Stanley says Netflix’s House of Cards should come with a health warning 30 Books A guide to the ‘hypnotic fairground’ of modem Russia 33 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus bumps into a drunken Cardinal Wolsey at Hampton Court 36 Catholic Life Lord and Lady Fellowes meet a prize-winning young writer 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Stuart Reid hails the brave, principled Malcolm Rifkind 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on his battle with ego Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £75 ✣ Annual EU: £90 ✣ Annual world: £105

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content