Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Cardinal says ‘harsh words’ have driven people from the Church 10 World news Neglecting elderly parents can be a mortal sin, says the Pope 12 News focus Why is the number of converts falling under Francis?

Comment 15 Notebook Will Heaven says ISIS vandals remind him of the Reformation 16 Cover story Francis’s mission is far from accomplished, says papal biographer Paul Vallely 19 Comment I was a hard-partying rock journalist until I discovered Chesterton, says Dawn Eden 20 Feature Fr Andrew Pinsent salutes the priests who mapped the heavens 21 Comment Jill, Duchess of Hamilton meets a ‘dangerous’ priest in Jerusalem 22 Feature Phil Lawler on the papal visit that could heal the US Church 24 Feature A new pro-Pius XII film does the wartime pope no favours, says Michael Coren

Dawn Eden The riotous rock writer who took a trip across the Tiber Page 19

Michael Coren Let’s save Pius XII from his overzealous defenders Page 28

Fr Andrew Pinsent Nasa’s debt to the Church Page 20

25 Comment Mary Kenny on the saint with an enviable global brand 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts Jenny McCartney marvels at a movie inspired by a Holocaust victim’s unfinished novel 30 Books Katharine MacDonogh says Elizabeth I lived in terror of papal excommunication 33 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on the devout Catholics who hate Lent 36 Catholic Life Andrew Lloyd Webber donates money to Pugin church 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse I was once denounced from the pulpit, says Piers Paul Read 43 The Last Word Don’t mistake unhealthy fear for piety, urges Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover image: CNS/Paul Haring

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content