Page Text

W&N Fiction Literary Fiction HB / ETPB July £14.99 / £13.99 368pp 978 0 297 60928 5 / 978 0 297 60929 2 eBook: £14.99 / 978 0 297 60930 8

Praise for Tiger Hills: ‘An epic and extraordinary debut from an astonishing new talent’ – Daily Express

SARITA MANDANNA Good Hope Road

From the author of TV Book Club pick Tiger Hills, a sweeping tale of love, friendship, and the legacy of war. For fans of Richard Flanagan, Sebastian Faulks and Pat Barker. At the outset of the Great War in 1914, New England Yankee James Stonebridge and Louisiana native Obadaiah Nelson volunteer with the French Foreign Legion. They are among a handful of Americans who did so, idealistic young men lured by the chance of adventure. Despite their differences, James and Obadaiah forge a friendship that helps them endure the brutal realities of war. Both survive, but leave the trenches changed men. James returns to his New Hampshire farm and becomes a recluse, allowing his memories to weigh heavily on his son, Jim. Then Jim falls in love with Madeleine, and she brings light and laughter to their sombre world. But with another war looming, Jim has decisions to make, decisions that will alter the course of his life for ever. Sarita Mandanna comes from Coorg, India, the stunning setting of her first novel, Tiger Hills. She worked as a private equity investor in New York before moving to Toronto in 2010. Tiger Hills was longlisted for the 2011 Man Asian Literary Prize and has been translated into fourteen languages.

5

author:

Location: Toronto, Canada Available for interview www.saritamandanna.com f/TigerHillsSaritaMandanna @SaritaMandanna

W&N Fiction • July 2015