Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News focus Can the Church help save shipwrecked migrants? Page 12

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news England bucks global trend with a sharp rise in women religious 10 World news Vatican suddenly ends doctrinal investigation of US Sisters 12 News focus Can we stop the Mediterranean turning into a vast cemetery?

Comment 15 Notebook Peter Sheppard cracks the case of the missing church handles 16 Cover story England would be less gloomy if it had remained Catholic, says historian Dominic Selwood 19 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza on the gift Benedict XVI gave us 20 Feature Luke Coppen says it will be a miracle if this year’s family synod goes smoothly 22 Feature William Oddie urges Francis to heed the climate sceptics 24 Catholic dilemmas

Fr Raymond de Souza Let’s raise a glass to Benedict XVI Page 19

William Oddie I’m not sure we need a green encyclical Page 22

25 Comment Mary Kenny says we have a new reason to love the Italians 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 29 Arts Robert Tanitch enjoys a food fight at the National Theatre 31 Books John Hinton reveals the 20th century’s best political poster 33 Spiritual life Fr John Zuhlsdorf on the boy who became St Athanasius 36 Catholic Life Vatican Cardinal George Pell makes a flying visit to London 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Nick Thomas on why he can’t bring himself to write his blog 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser names the 10 things that unite all religions Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content