Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Churchgoer collects enough clothes for 35,000 Iraqi refugees 10 World news Cubans eagerly await Francis’s visit in September 12 News focus Why women’s religious orders are suddenly flourishing

Comment 15 Notebook Will Heaven says we’re living in a golden age of procrastination 16 Cover story Tim Montgomerie on the real battle Britain’s Christians must get ready to fight 19 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza mourns America’s greatest bishop 20 Feature Archbishop Peter Smith says Catholics can’t afford to sit out this election 21 Comment Peter Hitchens wonders why our politicians behave like Victorian maiden aunts 22 Interview Cardinal Murphy-O’Connor discusses his candid new memoir with Peter Stanford

Cardinal Cormac Murphy-O’Connor Why I urged Tony Blair to wait before he became a Catholic Page 22

Richard Ingrams I thank God for the great David Suchet Page 25

Fr Raymond de Souza America loses its brainiest bishop Page 19

24 Catholic dilemmas 25 Comment Richard Ingrams is inspired by David Suchet’s hard-won faith 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts Patrick Reyntiens salutes the American Rubens 30 Books Patrick West on how British greed and misrule lost America 35 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus says Cardinal George was a modern prophet 36 Catholic Life 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Stuart Reid wonders if he’ll have to attend Confession after polling day 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the truth about God’s judgment Cover design by David Riley

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content