Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news English and Welsh bishops unveil plans for Year of Mercy 10 World news Francis insists saint-to-be didn’t harm Native Americans 12 News focus Does the Vatican need a 21st-century spin machine?

Comment 15 Notebook William Cash on politicians who hide their wives 16 Cover story Jon Anderson says the bells are tolling for the Irish Church 19 Comment Rachel Kelly has advice for the politicians who lost 20 Feature Edward Pentin meets the bishop who’s a ‘moving target’ in Kenya 23 Comment Stephen Bullivant explains why Humanae Vitae is good news for Guardian readers 24 Interview I’m not anti-papal, Cardinal Burke tells Riccardo Cascioli 27 Comment John Charmley says bishops can’t change Church teaching 29 Comment Mary Kenny on the one quality you need in old age

Cardinal Burke I’m not in a fight against the Pope Page 24

✣ / /

William Cash Why are some politicians afraid to be seen with their spouses? Page 15

Piers Paul Read How would Europe fare under Francis? Page 44

30 Science and Faith It’s still shocking to think that God became Man, says Quentin de la Bédoyère 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Daisy Dunn hails the Mad Man who defied art world snobbery 34 Books John Hinton on the dictator who would stop at nothing to outdo Hollywood 39 Spiritual life ‘Pro-choice’ is euphemistic nonsense, says Pastor Iuventus 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read asks if Francis would make a good EU governer 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser issues an appeal to the world’s bishops Cover image: CNS/Cathal McNaughton, Reuters

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content