Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Bishop backs 500 priests’ appeal to the family synod 10 World news Vatican cardinal insists there’s no ‘fourth secret’ of Fatima 12 News focus What the Conservative triumph means for the Catholic Church

Comment 15 Notebook Freddy Gray wonders if Ed Miliband just wasn’t Left-wing enough 16 Cover story Pascal-Emmanuel Gobry scents a Catholic revival in France 19 Comment Ed West on why a French historian shot himself in Notre-Dame Cathedral 20 Feature Bishop Philip Egan gets ready to welcome a saintly married couple to Britain 21 Comment Raymond de Souza says the eco-encyclical won’t commit the Church to unsettled science 22 Interview Artist Patrick Reyntiens tells Mark Greaves about the day he encountered an angel

News focus Is Cameron’s victory good news for Catholics? Page 12

Freddy Gray Where the Labour Party will recover its soul Page 15

Bishop Egan The saints who can strengthen your marriage Page 20

24 Comment Francis Phillips on why saints have no need for warm duvets 25 Comment Mary Kenny explains how Francis got through to a dictator 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts Miguel Cullen admires an artist who wore the wrong trousers 30 Books Mark Allen on what the Queen Mother told Cardinal Cormac 34 Spiritual Life Pastor Iuventus meets the Sisters prepared for martyrdom 36 Catholic Life 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Dennis Sewell says the bishops’ conference needs a shake-up 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the new meaning of evolution Cover image: AP Photo/Thibault Camus

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content