Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Relics of saintly couple begin a tour of England 10 World news Francis canonises the first two modern Palestinian saints 12 News focus How to save your church from closure

Comment 15 Notebook Richard Ingrams on the one thing he struggles to forgive Sir Paul Getty for 16 Cover story Alexander Lucie-Smith unmasks the theological divide between Twitter and Facebook 19 Feature Mark Dowd describes the final moments of Oscar Romero 20 Feature Brendan O’Neill on what Christians must do for atheists 21 Comment Dawn Eden urges broadcaster Michael Coren to return to Rome 22 Interview Bess Twiston Davies talks to the gentle giant feeding a quarter of Malawi’s children

Magnus MacFarlaneBarrow The salmon farmer who feeds a million children every day Page 22

Fleur Macdonald The Holy See goes global at the Venice Biennale Page 28

Brendan O’Neill Let’s protect atheists Page 20

23 Catholic dilemmas 24 Comment Tom Gallagher salutes the Catholic who stood up to Scottish nationalists 25 Comment Mary Kenny on why she’s old-fashioned about money 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 29 Arts Robert Tanitch watches an Everyman for a secular age 30 Books Jack Carrigan on the theologian who mocked the Nazis 33 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus offers a tip for those struggling to pray 36 Catholic Life 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse James Le Fanu on what water tells us about the Creator 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the Light that outshines all others

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content