Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Publisher dismayed by cuts to cardinal’s memoir 10 World news Cardinal hopes Francis will bring joy to Bosnia 12 News focus Why this year’s synod must be more transparent than the last

Comment 15 Notebook Will Heaven says young Tories are keeping their heads down 16 Cover story Fr Mark Drew predicts that Francis’s ‘enemies’ may rally behind him at this year's synod 19 Comment Richard Ingrams asks if Stephen Fry will follow Oscar Wilde’s path to Rome 20 Interview Vatican media reformer Lord Patten tells Simon Caldwell he sees resistance ahead 21 Comment Jill, Duchess of Hamilton asks if empty pews really are bad news 22 Feature Michael White is amazed by what he heard at Taizé

Richard Ingrams Is Oscar Wilde smiling or spinning in his tomb after the Irish referendum? Page 19

Lord Patten What the Vatican and the Beeb have in common Page 20

Michael White Why 'the prince of record labels' snapped up Taizé Page 22

24 Feature Jon Anderson says England is getting less Irish by the day 25 Comment Mary Kenny applauds the doctor trying to defuse Britain’s ‘fertility time bomb’ 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 29 Arts Robert Tanitch watches Antony Sher rage as Willy Loman 30 Books Jack Carrigan on the science that became a ‘petrified religion’ 35 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus describes the difficult birth of the American Church 36 Catholic Life 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Stuart Reid presents his exclusive vox pop on Europe 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the healthy way to deal with our obsessions Cover image: AP

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content