Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Cardinal Nichols says the new encyclical isn’t puritanical 10 World news Francis asks a Protestant community for forgiveness 12 News focus Israel needs to act fast to stop church vandals

Comment 15 Notebook Ann Widdecombe on the worst thing about secular Britain LAUDATO SI’ 16 The encyclical’s critics cannot bear the brilliance of the Gospel, says Lord Deben 19 James Delingpole suspects lobbyists have got to the Pontiff 20 No one can shrug off this papal challenge, says Chris Bain 21 Philip Booth thinks Francis is too gloomy about our century 22 Conrad Black hails a dazzling papal high-wire act 24 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza says the world’s sacred places are turning into slaughterhouses

James Delingpole The poor need cheap energy not trendy turbines Page 19

Conrad Black Francis’s new encyclical hits the bull's-eye Page 22

Ann Widdecombe Why Britons show no mercy Page 15

25 Comment Mary Kenny on a euthanasia advocate’s grim trip to Auschwitz 27 Letters and emails

Arts and life 28 Arts Has Tim Stanley discovered the worst TV programme ever? 30 Books Jonathan Wright on Britain’s quest to create a utopia 33 Spiritual life David McGough says St Peter and St Paul had just one thing in common 36 Catholic Life 38 Bishops’ engagements 39 Crossword 40 Charterhouse Watch out for an African revolution at the synod, says Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith 43 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser says it’s better to burn-out than rust-out Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content