Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Jewish peer who escaped Nazis rescues Syrian Christians 12 World news ISIS claims it has captured three more African faithful 16 News focus Is the Church getting too close to the United Nations?

Comment 19 Notebook Will Gore on what St Ignatius taught Jordan Spieth about golf 20 Cover story Is it time for Catholics to be more evangelical, asks Luke Coppen 23 Comment Ann Widdecombe wonders if we’re really so much better than ‘the bookkeeper of Auschwitz’ 24 Feature John Charmley on the faithful who think they’re more Catholic than Pope Francis 25 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza reveals the real reason Church leaders are going green 26 Feature Fr Mark Drew on what you need to know about next year’s historic Orthodox summit 28 Foundations Harry Mount begins his new series on church architecture, illustrated by Adam Dant

Will Gore How Jordan Spieth remains calm under pressure Page 19

✣ / /

Sir Michael Tugendhat Do judges really always know best? Page 44

Fr Mark Drew Why Russia is pushing for an Orthodox summit Page 26

29 Comment Mary Kenny on the Nazi victim who forgave her tormentors 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Film Will Gore on the one film you must see this summer 34 Books Jack Carrigan hails a gritty single mum on the road to sainthood 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus is taught a lesson by a trapped pigeon 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Michael Tugendhat asks why there are no Protestant US Supreme Court judges 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on how we can weed out our weaknesses Cover image: Pope Francis and Pastor Giovanni Traettino embrace during a meeting with Evangelical leaders at the Vatican (AP)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content