Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

Tim Stanley As a Catholic, I know the Crucifixion was not just a historical event Page 26

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Bishops warn against relaxing Sunday trading laws 12 World news The divorced and re-married are not excommunicated, says Pope 16 News focus Is China losing its grip on Christians?

Comment 19 Notebook Patrick West says therapeutic colouring books stress him out 20 Cover story John Charmley argues that a new ‘extremism’ Bill will threaten our religious freedom 23 Comment Alexander Lucie-Smith backs the Kenyan bishops’ stand over polio vaccination 24 Comment Kevin Myers asks whether the Battle of Britain was a mistake 26 Feature Tim Stanley recounts his journey from Marx to Catholicism

John Charmley The government risks labelling all religious groups as ‘extremist’ Page 20

Kevin Myers Should we have waited to attack Hitler? Page 24

28 Foundations Harry Mount hails a perfect example of Decorated Gothic 29 Comment Mary Kenny says doped-up athletes are only cheating themselves 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 33 Theatre Robert Tanitch watches Ben Whishaw tackle Euripides 35 Books JonathanWright on a well-argued riposte to celebrity atheists 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus visits an ancient home of Saxon Christianity 40 Catholic life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Daniel Johnson has a musical encounter with the divine 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on how to write an obituary for a suicide Cover: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607