Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news More than 30,000 Muslims attend talk on Turin Shroud 12 World news Pope Francis is dragged into the Falklands dispute 16 News focus Has Francis’s environment encyclical sunk without trace?

Comment 19 Notebook Andrew M Brown names the novel every European Catholic should read 20 Cover story The English Catholic Church will be strikingly different in a century, says Dominic Selwood 23 Comment Stephen Bullivant sees Benedict XVI’s prophecy coming true 24 Feature Harry Mount on why it took Britain more than 1,000 years to crack classical architecture 25 Comment Emma Loosley explains why ISIS has desecrated the remains of a saint revered by Muslims 26 Feature Paul Vallely asks if Francis’s successor could undo his legacy

Paul Vallely Can Vatican police keep Francis safe? Page 26

Stephen Bullivant Did Benedict XVI really want a smaller, purer Church? Page 23

Damian Thompson Cilla Black’s curious farewell Page 44

27 Catholic dilemmas 29 Comment Mary Kenny views a precious manuscript saved by Jesuits 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Will Gore hails a stunning British marriage drama 34 Books Jonathan Wright on the Irish archbishop who irked Australia 37 Spiritual life Fr John Zuhlsdorf says Moses is actually a saint 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Damian Thompson thinks that showbiz funerals are a problem for the Church 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser says he was accused of racism over an innocent remark Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content