Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Catholic Education Service criticises school inspectors 12 World news Francis gives a CD of sermons to Fidel Castro 16 News focus Why do we know so little about next month’s synod?

Comment 19 Notebook Caroline Wyatt on what Pope Francis’s handshake reveals about him FAMILY SYNOD 20 Cardinal Wilfrid Napier proposes a radical way to ensure that Catholic marriages work 23 Fr Thomas Rosica says the synod sea may be choppy, but there is no reason to fear it 24 Fr Mark Drew on what the Catholic Church can learn from Orthodox synods 25 The synod’s working document is astonishingly bad, says Fr D Vincent Twomey 26 Feature John Hooper lifts the lid on life as a Vatican correspondent

Caroline Wyatt Francis’s trip to Cuba was quietly subversive Page 19

John Hooper So you want to be a Vatican reporter? Page 26

Robert Tanitch Kidman sparkles as the woman who cracked DNA Page 33

28 Foundations Harry Mount on the hair oil empire that gave us one of England’s great churches 29 Comment Mary Kenny reveals the word banned by a British press baron 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 33 Theatre Robert Tanitch hails the stage return of Nicole Kidman 35 Books Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith on synod schemers and screamers 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus finds a Saxon chapel where he can get WiFi 40 Catholic life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Our bishops are hoping some of the papal charisma rubs off on them, says Damian Thompson 47 The last word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on what anorexia and mass shootings have in common Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content