Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Bishop is ‘encouraged’ by Tory prison plans 12 World news Cardinals make dramatic appeal to Pope at synod 16 News focus Why Syrian Christians are applauding Russia

Comment 19 Notebook Deborah Jones explains why she’s turned to crime (writing) 20 Cover story Dennis Sewell says Amnesty International has been hijacked by bearded social activists 23 Comment There’s only one way to end Christian suffering in Pakistan, says Ann Widdecombe 24 Feature Dan Hitchens on the case that reduced a legal affairs blogger to tears 25 Comment Fr Raymond J de Souza reveals what the synod fathers are really fighting about 26 Feature The decrepit Belgian Church is still hugely influential, says Jon Anderson

News focus Will Putin save Syrian Christians? Page 16

Ann Widdecombe Make Pakistan pay for persecution Page 23

James Le Fanu My part in Corbyn's rise to the top Page 44

28 Comment Are we facing the same fate as the Anglican Communion, asks John Charmley 29 Comment Mary Kenny says ‘British values’ can be found in the Koran, too 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Cinema Suffragette tries too hard to make you weep, says Jenny McCartney 35 Books Walsingham’s visionary isn’t who you think it is, says Fr Kevin O’Donnell 39 Spiritual life We’ve reached the critical moment of the family synod, says Pastor Iuventus 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse James Le Fanu recalls stuffing envelopes for Jeremy Corbyn 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the words that stung him at a wedding reception Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content