Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news New hope as abortion law is devolved to Scotland 12 World news Holy Father canonises the parents of St Thérèse 16 News focus Does the Catholic Church need to be decentralised?

Comment 19 Notebook Christian Grobel on how to cure loneliness with a car and a cup of tea 20 Cover story TA Pascoe urges the synod fathers not to waver on marriage 23 Comment Stephen Bullivant says Francis is welcome to babysit his children 24 Feature The Sistine Chapel Choir is no longer an assault on the eardrums, says Michael White 25 Comment My friend Leon Brittan was treated unjustly, says Sir Michael Tugendhat 26 Feature Daisy Dunn asks if the clergy-baiting Catholic painter Goya was a hypocrite 28 Science and faith Quentin de la Bédoyère explains why he loved his morning commute

Will Pope Francis decentralise the Church? Page 16

✣ / /

The Sistine Chapel Choir will no longer have you reaching for the ear plugs Page 24

The strange Catholicism of Goya Page 26

29 Comment Mary Kenny on the hard-headed economist making the case for marriage 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Will Gore hails Panahi’s Taxi Tehran at London Film Week 34 Books Chesterton was a Zionist, says Francis Phillips. So why did he attack ‘financial Jews’? 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on the day the Pope dropped in on a group of homeless men 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse What are we to make of polygamy in the Old Testament, asks Melanie McDonagh 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser names the three books that made his heart ache Cover image: New spouses exchange rings during Mass in St Peter’s Basilica (CNS)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content