Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Cardinal Nichols urges Britain to do more to welcome refugees 12 World news Mob attacks parish ahead of papal visit to Africa 16 News focus Can a new wave of bishops reawaken the faith in Europe?

Comment 20 Cover story Jon Anderson thinks the Jesuits are facing an identity crisis 23 Notebook Overprotective parents should read the new le Carré biography, says Andrew M Brown 24 Feature Anna Arco on why Cardinal Schönborn triumphed at the family synod 25 Comment The Pope’s post-synod plans have just been revealed, says Fr Raymond de Souza 26 Feature Simon Caldwell predicts that a saintly riddle going back 137 years may soon be solved 28 Science and faith Quentin de la Bédoyère asks why decent people accept depraved ideas 29 Comment Mary Kenny offers some advice should you ever get stuck in a lift

The Pope’s blueprint for shaking up the European Church Page 16

✣ / /

Why the ‘conservative’ Cardinal Schönborn led the drive for change at the synod Page 24

Baron Scarpia wasn’t actually a villain Page 44

30 Feature James Anderson hails an English priest who became India’s most published apologist 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts David V Barrett admires the mind-bending talent of Escher 34 Books Natasha Cooper on John le Carré’s inventions and betrayals 37 Spiritual life Bishop David McGough says Jesus is near even when life looks bleak 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read thinks modern Britain would have seemed prim to 18th-century Romans 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on why cemeteries don’t have a big role in Christianity Cover image: St Ignatius Loyola by sculptors Juan Martínez Montañés and Francisco Pacheco (CNS/Nancy Wiechec)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content