Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Muslim convert to Christianity brutally assaulted in Bradford 12 World news Pope says he wants to bring hope to war-torn African nation 16 News focus Will the Year of Mercy be as big as the Great Jubilee in 2000?

Comment 19 Notebook Richard Ingrams thinks Brian Sewell was right: men and women are not the same 20 Cover story George Weigel says it’s time to finish off what Vatican II started 23 Comment Bishops must keep out of Ireland’s abortion battle, warns Melanie McDonagh 24 Feature Mark Greaves meets the young priest caring for Manila’s ‘totally rejected’ street children 25 Advent diary Stuart Reid will not be giving up Coke Zero or chewing gum 26 Feature Pope Francis might not launch a revolution after all, says Fr Raymond de Souza

Will the Year of Mercy take off? Page 16

Brian Sewell turned winding people up into an art form Page 19

Jonathan Ruffer says philanthropy is good for you Page 28

28 Feature Jonathan Ruffer hears God calling him to donate millions 29 Comment No priest ever burnt books by Edna O’Brien, says Mary Kenny 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Tim Stanley names the best series the BBC has ever made 34 Books Jack Carrigan finds out what it takes to be a saint like John Paul 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus thinks staging Nativity plays in the first week of Advent is absurd 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse William Cash says some of Britain’s loveliest private chapels are being demolished 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on why spiritual giants need a strong ego Cover image: CNS

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content