Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Pope Francis names two new English bishops 12 World news Pontiff urges Central Africans to put down their weapons 16 News focus Have Catholics really gained anything from the Reformation?

Comment 19 Notebook Will Heaven spares a thought for the doubting Archbishop of Canterbury YEAR OF MERCY 20 Everyone, from priests to schoolchildren, can play their part, says Bishop Philip Egan 23 John Pridmore, a reformed criminal, on the moment he knew that Jesus was on his side 24 Laura Keynes thought her sin was too big even for Confession. She was wrong 26 Joseph Pearce on how God forgave him for his racist past 27 Advent diary Stuart Reid stocks up on tea, chewing gum and an apple 28 Science and faith Quentin de la Bédoyère explains why he’s wary of Evangelicals

Was the Reformation really ‘enriching’? Page 16

The saint who spent nine years in an illegal sect Page 34

Michael Gove’s Churchillian plan for prisoners Page 19

29 Catholic Herald app Luke Coppen launches our app for smartphones – and it’s absolutely free for a month 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Tim Stanley takes a way-out trip courtesy of Amazon 34 Books Mick Duggan on St Augustine and the power of flatulence 37 Spiritual life Bishop David McGough says Advent invites us to ‘come home’ 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse An era of peace and good health may be coming to an end, says Michael Tugendhat 47 The Last Word The first victims of Islamist terrorism are peaceful Muslims, argues Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover image: Pope Francis inaugurates the Year of Mercy in Bangui cathedral (AP)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, William Cash, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content