Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news The Archbishop of Canterbury reveals his Catholic hero 12 World news Vatican rejects ‘institutional’ efforts to convert Jews 16 News focus Is Pope Francis about to push for married priests?

Comment 19 Notebook Nicholas Fogg on the Catholic Herald writer who went to school with the Kray brothers 20 Catholic of the Year The man who hit new heights in creativity and took on the secularist snobs in 2015 24 Feature Strictly Come Dancing is cruel, over-the-top and wonderfully life-enhancing, says Jane Taylor 25 Comment Ann Widdecombe on the woman who chose to die rather than grow ‘old, poor and ugly’ 26 Interview Mgr Augustine Hoey tells Catherine Utley that he’s astonished to be turning 100 28 Comment Stephen Bullivant on the greatest one-line response to anti-Catholicism ever made

Cardinal Nichols opens the Holy Door at Westminster Cathedral Page 11

The Catholics who put the soul into Strictly Page 24

How a father-of-six won a Woman of the Year award Page 44

29 Comment Mary Kenny meets the Muslim refugees being sheltered by Baptists 30 Advent diary Stuart Reid asks if it’s sinful to have two pieces of chocolate 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Domingo Cullen on the prize-winning new portraits that are full of mystery 34 Books Mgr Mark Langham applauds an updated biography of a super-smart pope 37 Spiritual life Fr John Zuhlsdorf on what happened to St Thomas’s finger 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Ed West on the year the Western world lost its reason 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser says it’s not always helpful to tell the truth Cover photograph: Hans van der Woerd

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content