Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

Can Pope Francis halt the killing of Mexican priests? Page 26

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Abuse survivor defies Vatican request to take ‘leave of absence’ 12 World news Cuba hosts historic meeting between Pope and Patriarch 16 News focus Francis is ‘love bombing’ China. But what if it doesn't work?

Comment 19 Notebook Does Will Heaven dare to give up Netflix for Lent? 20 Cover story Fr Mark Drew on why the Pope-Patriarch meeting will be nerve-racking for the Vatican 23 Comment Politicians don’t lie, they just ‘misspeak’, says Richard Ingrams 24 Interview Will Gore talks to the Catholic doctor who took on a sports empire – and won 25 Comment Toby Baxendale reveals why he nearly wept in Barbados airport 26 Feature Tim MacGabhann reports from the deadliest place in the world to be a Catholic priest

Why you will never be able to catch Hillary telling a lie Page 23

Meet the Catholic doctor inspiring actor Will Smith Page 24

28 Feature Neil McGee thought Catholic dating sites were awful. So he built his own one 29 Comment Mary Kenny on the clown who could make everyone laugh – except himself 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Jenny McCartney watches Ralph Fiennes and Tilda Swinton make a splash 34 Books Francis Phillips on the tough Soviet youths who retreated behind monastery walls 39 Spiritual life Don’t make Lenten sacrifices to feel better about yourself, advises Pastor Iuventus 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse The British behaved like Nazis in India, argues Piers Paul Read 47 The Last Word Read on if you feel you’re losing faith, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover image: AP

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Ed West ed@catholicherald.co.uk News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content