Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Vatican backed Benedict XVI Centre to open in London 12 World news Catholics opting for assisted suicide to be denied last rites 16 News focus Can an Oscar-winning film sway the battle against clerical abuse?

Comment 19 Notebook Will Heaven says it’s terrifying to think there is a bomb that could flatten London 20 Cover story Dan Hitchens asks why the EU divides Catholics 23 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza reveals who Benedict’s ‘dictatorship of relativism’ speech was aimed at 24 Feature Michael Duggan hails the only man to have ever out-Chestertoned Chesterton 25 Comment Stephen Bullivant takes opiates surrounded by alligators 26 Feature John Paul II’s ‘secret lover’ was nothing of the sort, says his biographer Garry O’Connor 27 Catholic dilemmas

How Spotlight can inspire a new fight against abuse Page 16

What John Paul II’s ‘secret’ letters truly reveal Page 26

The admirable dream of Jeremy Corbyn Page 19

28 Feature Amy-Jo Crowley says we’ll soon be able to visit the Sistine Chapel in our armchairs 29 Comment Our state ‘religion’ needs a Reformation, says Mary Kenny 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Cinema The Coens’ Hail, Caesar! soon runs out of steam, says Will Gore 34 Books Francis Phillips asks if Pius XII blessed Hitler’s failed assassins 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus says Jesus is nothing like a PE teacher 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse My friend is addicted to Confession, says Stuart Reid 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the one thing that helps us overcome loss and anger Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content