Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news 1.5 million-piece mosaic is unveiled at Knock 12 World news Pope hails Mother Teresa’s nuns in Yemen as martyrs 16 News focus Why are Britain’s Catholic shrines reviving?

Comment 19 Notebook Andrew M Brown describes the Catholic schools parents really want 20 Cover story Fr Mark Drew says Cardinal Sarah is winning battle after battle in Rome 23 Comment Bishop Mark Davies offers a gap year for aspiring priests 24 Feature Michael Duggan reveals the African side of Catholic Ireland 25 Comment The Year of Mercy is great, says Ed Condon. But we need a Year of Justice next 26 Feature Beneath its grimy surface London is a many-sided city of God, says Ben Judah

Meet the religious migrants helping to transform London Page 26

Why you couldn’t make up the Knights of Malta Page 44

Botticelli: the painter who captured heaven Page 32

28 Science and faith Quentin de la Bédoyère imagines a world without Humanae Vitae 29 Comment Mary Kenny is baffled by the Irish national anthem 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Miguel Cullen and David V Barrett hail Botticelli’s genius 34 Books Stav Sherez on Bob Dylan’s ‘place of chaos’ 39 Spiritual life Christians should have a healthy self-love, says Pastor Iuventus 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read applauds the military order that cares for the sick 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser shares an elderly nun’s life-changing advice Cover image: AP

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content