Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Ann Widdecombe to rally Christians for Brexit 12 World news Pressure grows for US to call ISIS atrocities ‘genocide’ 16 News focus Should Catholics stand up for persecuted atheists?

✣ / /

Why foot-washing matters to Pope Francis Page 26

29 Comment Mary Kenny reveals why she dare not use her hearing aid 31 Letters and emails

Comment 19 Notebook ‘Give up chocolate for March’ infuriates Melissa Kite 20 Cover story Gerard Russell says Mother Teresa’s nuns were victims of Yemen’s deadly politics 23 Comment Ann Widdecombe is taking a stand for the written word 24 Feature We dismiss Masonic infiltration at our peril, says Ed Condon 25 Comment Fr Raymond J de Souza asks if the Holy See is about to throw China’s Catholics under the bus 26 Feature Foot-washing breaks boundaries, says Thomas O’Loughlin 27 Catholic dilemmas 28 Feature The Church is helping to end the world’s longest-running civil war, says Beth Twiston Davies

No wonder Maria Sharapova got caught out Page 23

How good is Joseph Fiennes’s new Passion film? Page 32

Arts and life 32 Cinema Jenny McCartney reviews a Passion story seen through the eyes of a brutal Roman tribune 34 Books Ed Condon on the furious politicking of Benjamin Franklin 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on the saint who really understood sin 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse David Cameron is the cheerleader for a new corporate religion, says William Cash 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser believes that, as our bodies break down, our souls mature Cover image: Apostolic Vicariate of Southern Arabia

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content