Page Text

6

W&N Literary Fiction Hb / ETPb July / May £14.99 / £13.99 448pp 978 0 297 60992 6 / 978 0 297 60993 3 ebook: £14.99 / 978 0 297 60994 0 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 409 16151 6 / 12 hrs

‘Astonishing . . . it’s filling in that gaping hole left by both Harry Potter and Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights. Yes, really’ – Stylist best books of 2016

W&N Fiction • July 2016

DAN vYLETA Smoke a breakthrough literary blockbuster for fans of Philip Pullman, The Secret History and The Passage.

If sin were visible and you could see people’s anger, their lust and cravings, what would the world be like?

Smoke opens in a private boarding school near Oxford, but history has not followed the path known to us. In this other past, sin appears as smoke on the body and soot on the clothes. Children are born carrying the seeds of evil within them. The ruling elite have learned to control their desires and contain their sin. They are spotless.

It is within the closeted world of this school that the sons of the wealthy and well-connected are trained as future leaders. Among their number are two boys, Thomas and Charlie. On a trip to London, a forbidden city shrouded in smoke and darkness, the boys will witness an event that will make them question everything they have been told about the past. For there is more to the world of smoke, soot and ash than meets the eye, and there are those who will stop at nothing to protect it . . .

Dan Vyleta is the author of three critically acclaimed books. Pavel & I has been translated into eight languages; The Quiet Twin was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize; and The Crooked Maid was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and winner of the J.I. Segal Award.

author:

Location: Stratford-upon-Avon Available for interview danvyleta.com @danvyleta