Page Text

W&N Literary Fiction Hb / ETPb July £14.99 / £13.99 256pp 978 1 474 60359 1 / 978 1 474 60360 7 ebook: £14.99 / 978 1 474 60362 1 Audio: £18.99 / 978 1 409 16583 5 / 7 hrs

‘This is magical, lyrical and spellbinding writing’ – Granta on The Last Warner Woman kEI MILLER Augustown

For fans of Marlon James and Chigozie Obioma, a stunning breakthrough novel from the Forward Prize winner.

Ma Taffy may be blind but she sees everything. So when her great-nephew kaia comes home from school in tears, what she senses sends a deep fear through her. While they wait for his mama to come home from work, Ma Taffy recalls the story of the flying preacherman and a great thing that did not happen. A poor suburban sprawl in the Jamaican heartland, Augustown is a place where many things that should happen don’t, and plenty of things that shouldn’t happen do. For the story of kaia leads back to another momentous day in Jamaican history, the birth of the Rastafari and the desire for a better life.

Augustown is a novel about inequality and aspiration, memory and myth, and the connections between people which can transcend these things but not always change them. It is a window onto a moment in Jamaican history, when the people sought to rise up above their lives and shine.

• Flagged by the Observer and New Statesman as a 2016 title to watch.

• kei has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth writers’ Prize, Dylan Thomas Prize and scottish Book of the year and selected for waterstones New Voices.

kei Miller was born in Jamaica in 1978. He is the author of both prose, including The Same Earth, The Last Warner Woman and The Fear of Stones, and poetry, including The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion, which won the Forward Prize 2014, Kingdom of Empty Bellies and There is an Anger that Moves. He also edited New Caribbean Poetry: An Anthology.

7

author:

Location: London, SW16 Available for interview underthesaltireflag.com on.fb.me/1n5hTOf @keimiller

W&N Fiction • July 2016