Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Cardinal Nichols fears for Britain’s future outside the EU 12 World news Decision to bring Syrian refugees to Rome ‘inspired by the Holy Spirit’, says Pope 16 News focus Is it time for the Church to jettison just war theory?

Comment 19 Notebook Ed West announces the birth of a new religion in Silicon Valley 20 Cover story Paul Collier on how we can end Europe’s migrant crisis 23 Comment Why do bishops make such a fuss about the Traditional Mass, asks Joseph Shaw 24 Feature Michael Alexander on what we actually know about Shakespeare’s faith 25 Comment St Louis de Montfort’s devotion is not for wimps, says Marc Barnes 26 Feature Peter Sheppard on why Catholics should know a Burgundy from a Bordeaux

The inconvenient truth about the Traditional liturgy Page 23

What King Lear reveals about the Bard’s faith Page 24

Three days by the beach with Graham Greene Page 44

28 Science and faith Quentin de la Bédoyère reveals the one question you should always ask an ‘expert’ 29 Comment Mary Kenny applauds the television presenter tackling taboos about fertility 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts The BBC’s quest for aliens is ridiculous, says Tim Stanley 35 Books Charlie Hegarty on the archbishop who designed his sister’s wedding dress 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on the moment he left the 21st century 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse I saw the other side of Graham Greene, says Piers Paul Read 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on dinner parties where you might be the next item on the menu Cover image: AP

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content