Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Royal College of Midwives backs abolition of abortion law 12 World news Doctors perform euthanasia on Dutch sex abuse victim 16 News focus Will Pope Francis back women deacons?

Comment 19 Notebook Anna Arco on what Bavaria owes to an apostle from Wessex 20 Cover story Joseph Pearce says that Christian Europe must fight the new fascism 23 Comment God and politics are natural bedfellows, says Ann Widdecombe 24 Interview Martin Baker and Michael White on the composer-priest the world needs to hear about 25 Comment Samuel Gregg on how Catholics can help bankers avoid sin 26 Feature Go online and share the Word, says Stephen Bullivant 28 Science and faith Quentin de la Bédoyère on the topic moral theologians just can’t agree on

Westminster needs more God-fearing politicians Page 23

Is Pope Francis going to create women deacons? Page 16

Selfies and salvation: the new online evangelisation Page 26

29 Comment An abandoned baby’s funeral shows us how to cherish life, says Mary Kenny 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 33 Arts If you don’t want too much Shakespeare, head for the Globe, says Robert Tanitch 35 Books Matt Thorne on the murderous history of Bible translations 38 Spiritual life Rita of Cascia, the saint who prayed that her sons would die 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Melanie McDonagh on the scientific case for church-going 47 The Last Word Kids today are morally blasé – but inside they are good people, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover image: AP

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content