Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news St Thomas Becket relic returns to England after 800 years 12 World news New president of the Philippines proposes ‘three-child policy’ 16 News focus Are foreign priests the answer to Britain’s vocations crisis?

Comment 19 Notebook Melissa Kite rescues a toddler on the Tube 20 Cover story Fr Douglas Al-Bazi tells Robert Ewan how he survived nine days of torture in Baghdad 23 Reflection Cardinal Vincent Nichols on the icon that will never fail to lift your spirits 24 Feature England’s Catholic shrines are crying out for restoration, says Fr Marcus Holden 25 Comment Leszek Werenowski explains how feuding families can avoid a £200,000 bill 26 Feature Fr Benoît Vermander says Western media miss the truth about Catholic life in China

Why Catholics should take to the streets on Corpus Christi Page 44

What it’s actually like to be Catholic in China? Page 26

Cardinal Nichols on the icon that heals hearts Page 23

28 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza says the Vatican has quietly cast aside John Paul II’s economic wisdom 29 Comment Mary Kenny on the day her friend became a communist 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Jenny McCartney watches Ibsen run wild in rural Australia 34 Books How often should you go to Confession? Just ask the saints, says Francis Phillips 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on the dying lesson of a much-loved priest 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Corpus Christi processions are suddenly thriving, notes John Gilhooly 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on why you can have deep faith and still die in fear Cover image: CNS

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content