Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Bishop accuses Irish elite of trying to ‘eliminate’ Church from public life 12 World news Pope says ‘Jesus is no wizard’ as he canonises two new saints 16 News focus Why it’s so hard to get Orthodox leaders in one room

Comment 19 Notebook Julian Fellowes has a plan to reform the House of Lords, says Jill, Duchess of Hamilton 20 Cover story Jonathan Luxmoore pays tribute to the victims of the colossal Soviet persecution 23 Comment Ann Widdecombe regrets the loss of yet another parish priest 24 Feature Michael Duggan on what a Catholic historian and a daring vagabond have in common 25 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza on why God’s mercy takes different forms for each of us 26 Feature Jack Scarisbrick on a Christian monarch whose nation faces unprecedented challenges

The Queen's quietly joyful Christianity Page 26

Can the Orthodox churches finally come together? Page 16

How Muhammad Ali wrong-footed boxing’s enemies Page 29

28 Feature Climate change and abortion are intimately connected, says Bishop John Sherrington 29 Comment Mary Kenny says Muhammad Ali danced rings around anti-boxing campaigners 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Cinema Miguel Cullen is gripped by an elegy for the world’s last uncontacted tribes 34 Books Edward Short on the Christian thinkers who try to pick apart the Resurrection 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus has never regretted becoming a priest 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read says Guardian readers aren’t the only ones who miss Hugo Young 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on what we get wrong about Christianity and suffering Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content